Grid set for the Asian Le Mans Series Finale

Pole Position for the 4 Hours of Sepang &ndash the final round of the 2018/19 Asian Le Mans Series.

Pipo Derani – #8 Spirit of Race Ligier JS P2 
LMP2 Am Trophy 
Anders Fjordbach – #25 Algarve Pro Racing Ligier JS P2 Judd
Wayne Boyd – #2 United Autosports Ligier JS P3
Dries Vanthoor – #88 TianShi Racing Team Audi R8 LMS GT3 


4 Hours of Sepang – Qualifying Report

Derani and Spirit of Race on pole for the 4 Hours of Sepang. 
Drama in LMP3 as pole winner receives a penalty. 
First ever pole position for new Audi.  

The final round of the Asian Le Mans Series is set to be intense, with Championships and invitations to the 24 Hours of Le Mans all still on the line. With every point counting, claiming the point for qualifying in pole position was never more important. 
The first qualifying session was for the GT cars and with the possibility of the #11 Car Guy Ferrari winning the Championship by claiming the point for pole position, qualifying became even more important.  It was not to be their day though, with a blistering lap from Dries Vanthoor, in the TianShi Racing Team Audi claiming pole position. 
In the week leading into this round, the TianShi Racing Team’s Audis have been updated and are now running the 2019 evolution of the Audi R8 LMS GT3. The pole lap from Vanthoor also gave the new car its first ever pole position globally.
LMP3 qualifying was hit by post-race drama with a penalty for Nigel Moore in the #65 Viper Niza Racing Ligier JS P3 for wearing non-homologated boots in qualifying. This handed pole position, and the very important associated Championship point to Wayne Boyd in the #2 United Autosports Ligier JS P3. 
The #2 currently sits in 2ndposition, now just 7 points behind the class leader, the #13 Inter Europol Competition who will start 4thin class. The sister United Autosports #3 Ligier JS P3 and the #79 Ecurie Ecosse / Nielsen Racing also still remain in contention for the championship win. The #79 will start at the rear of the grid after a problem saw them miss the qualifying session. 
Pipo Derani and his Spirit of Race team missed the 4 Hours of Buriram, but he left a mark on his return. In a tightly fought battle between him, the two Algarve Pro Racing Ligier JS P2 Judd entries, and the Championship leading #22 United Autosports Ligier JS P2. It was Derani that put in a last-minute flyer to claim pole position outright. Second fastest was Phil Hanson behind the wheel of the #22 and Andrea Pizzitola in the #24 Algarve Pro Racing. Fourth fastest, and the fastest LMP2 Am Trophy entry was Anders Fjordbach in the #25 Algarve Pro Racing Ligier. 
Championship battle lines have been drawn. Live coverage of the race will begin on the series Facebook and YouTube pages at 11:30 tomorrow and entry to the 4 Hours of Sepang, including access to the pit walk and autograph session will be free of change. 
Full qualifying results can be found here.